• To register people to vote
  • To conduct fair and impartial elections
  • To educate voters
  • To manage the Campaign Finance process
  • To collect & report election results

Office hours

  • Normal hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday except for State Holidays
  • Extended hours before Primary and General Elections for Absentee Voting as posted on Office Web Sites

State Board of Elections (Effective July 1, 2015)

The State Board of Elections is composed of 10 members appointed by the Governor. 5 members are Democrats and 5 members are Republican. The Board's agenda, minutes, and other information are posted on the State's Public Meetings Calendar. Board meetings are open to the public. The State Election Commissioner is an ex officio member of the Board and can vote to break ties.

The members of the Board are:

  • Democrats
    • Anthony J. Albence,  Term to expire Jun 20, 2023
      State Election Commissioner ex officio
    • Sharon A. Williams-Mayo,  Term to expire Jul 1, 2019
    • Kay Sandstrom,  Term to expire Jun 6, 2022
      Kent County
    • John N. Pasquale, Jr.,  Term to expire Jun 6, 2022
      New Castle County
    • Karen H. Pugh,  Term to expire Jul 1, 2019
      Sussex County
    • Cimone Philpotts,  Term to expire Apr 5, 2021
  • Republicans
    • James A. Sterling, III,  Term to expire Jun 6, 2022
    • Kim Warfield-Walker,  Term to expire Jul 1, 2019
      Kent County
    • Marilyn P. Whittington,  Term to expire Jul 1, 2019
      New Castle County
    • Barbara Sikora,  Term to expire May 2, 2022
      Sussex County
    • Hal Schneikert,  Term to expire Jan 29, 2024
      New Castle County

Department of Elections

The State Election Commissioner is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate for a term of 4 years. The Commissioner is an ex officio member of the State Board of Elections, attends all State Board of Elections meetings, provides general supervision to the Department of Elections, develops regulations, policies, procedures and guidelines as provided in Delaware Code, Title 15, investigates violations of the State's Campaign Finance law, is responsible for the security of records in the Commissioner's office, and collects and reports election results.

County Offices

The Department of Elections offices in each county are managed by a County Director and Deputy County Director who are appointed by the State Board of Elections as provided in Delaware Code, Title 15. The offices conduct elections, register voters and educate voters.

  • Kent County
    • Doris J. Young,  
      Director, Democrat
    • Douglas Greig,  
      Deputy Director, Republican
  • New Castle County
    • Tracey N. Dixon,  
      Director, Democrat
    • Howard G. Sholl,  
      Deputy Director, Republican
  • Sussex County
    • Kenneth L. McDowell,  
      Director, Democrat
    • Jean M. Turner,  
      Deputy Director, Republican